An analysis of hucks many adventures in the novel huckleberry finn by mark twain

Check new design of our homepage!

An analysis of hucks many adventures in the novel huckleberry finn by mark twain

And yet here, as you see, I have elected to say it anyway, and at great length. Reading this novel now, at the age of mumble-mumble, is a bit like arriving at the circus after the tents have been packed, the bearded lady has been depilated, and the funnel cake trailers have been hitched to pick-up trucks and captained, like a formidable vending armada, toward the auburn sunset.

All the fun has After reading Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, I realized that I had absolutely nothing to say about it. Same story, different day. How exactly did I make it through eight total years of high school and undergraduate studies in English without having read any Mark Twain but a brief and forgotten excerpt from Life on the Mississippi?

Or am I old-fashioned? In the greater social consciousness, there are two stars of this book: Orbiting the cart, filled with generic cigarette cartons, tabloids, and canned meats, are a half-dozen kids, glazed with spittle and howling like Helen Keller over the water pump, but your eyes return to the small, sad boy sitting in the cart.

SparkNotes: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn: Character List

His gaze, imploring, suggestive of a caged intellect, breaks your heart, so you turn and comparison-shop for chewing gum or breath mints.

That boy is the spiritual descendant of Huckleberry Finn. Should we expect a mostly uneducated, abused adolescent son of a racist alcoholic who is living in the South before the Civil War to have a respectful, intellectually-enlightened perspective toward black people?

Should the character of Huck Finn, in other words, be ahistorical, anachronistic? Certainly not, if we expect any semblance of honesty from our national literature.

Sure, Tom Sawyer is something of an idiot, as we discover, but in a novel that includes faked deaths and absurd con jobs, his idiocy seems well-placed.

In the end, I suppose the greatest thing I can say about this novel is that it left me wondering what happened to Huck Finn.

Would his intellect and compassion escape from his circumstances or would he become yet another bigoted, abusive father squiring another brood of dirty, doomed children around a fluorescently-lit Wal-Mart?HUCKLEBERRY FINN Scene: The Mississippi Valley Time: Forty to fifty years ago Y ou don’t know about me, without you have read a book by the name of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer; but that ain’t no matter.

That book was made by Mr. Mark Twain, and he told the truth, mainly. There was things which he stretched, but mainly he told the truth. Use CliffsNotes' The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Study Guide today to ace your next test! Get free homework help on Mark Twain's Adventures of Huckleberry Finn: book summary, chapter summary and analysis and original text, quotes, essays, and character analysis -- courtesy of CliffsNotes.

Baltich, BYU, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Concept Analysis Literary Text: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (Dodd, Mead, & Company) Summary ♦ continuing in the vein of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Huck Finn has run into a large sum of money which he holds in a bank trust.

Huckleberry “Huck” Finn - The protagonist and narrator of the novel. Huck is the thirteen-year-old son of the local drunk of St. Petersburg, Missouri, a town on the Mississippi River. Huck is the thirteen-year-old son of the local drunk of St.

Petersburg, Missouri, a town on the Mississippi River. The novel begins with Huck Finn introducing himself and referencing The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.

An analysis of hucks many adventures in the novel huckleberry finn by mark twain

"You don't know about me," Huck narrates, "without you have read a book by the name of "The Adventures of Tom Sawyer," but that ain't no matter." He tells readers that, for the most part, Twain .

Huckleberry “Huck” Finn - The protagonist and narrator of the novel. Huck is the thirteen-year-old son of the local drunk of St. Petersburg, Missouri, a town on the Mississippi River.

Huck is the thirteen-year-old son of the local drunk of St.

An analysis of hucks many adventures in the novel huckleberry finn by mark twain

Petersburg, Missouri, a town on the Mississippi River.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn: Summary & Analysis | Chapter 1 | Study Guide | CliffsNotes